The Beautiful Project – Issue No. 36 – Amarantine

AmaranthusAmarantine - Video Screenshot

Hi Everyone,

It has been a long time since I published an issue of The Beautiful Project. I have been very ill; but I could not let the year finish without one more salvo of beauty. I have been dealing with various health problems which I won’t go into here, but my email address is as usual in the blog’s About Me section if any of you want to chat with me further. I will say that I am convalescing, and it is my conviction that I will recover more fully in the next year. I will keep moving forward. As always, that is the right thing to do.

This issue is about a very special piece of music; released in 2005, by Roma Ryan and sung by Enya, it is one of the most beautiful pieces of music I have ever heard – the song ‘Amarantine’. It’s sound is unique; one of the most beautiful sounds I have ever heard. The song proceeds from a related equally beautiful concept – in legend, the Amaranth flower is the flower that stays beautiful forever. And how beautiful a concept is that?! Also, as a metaphor (which I made up and might use in a story someday!), any work of art about a person, like a painting, a statue, a poem, is an enduring preservation of them in a way that stays beautiful forever, and can be thought of as a metaphorical amaranth or amarantine. A work of art about them, immortal, a form of them preserved, like the flower that stays beautiful forever.

When this song was released, I heard it everywhere. Now, I never hear it. That’s another reason why I wanted to do an issue on it.

Enjoy the song! I love it’s sublime sound, and the joyful way it makes me feel. The music video is gorgeous, sumptuous. (And maybe go look at Issue No. 34, The Star Flower, an amarantine of the morning glory that wilted long ago. : ) Photo included is of the real long-blooming flower ‘Amaranthus’ on which the legend is based.)

The song ‘Amarantine’ –

http://goo.gl/kgCVjs

The song can be purchased here:

iTunes: http://goo.gl/F3Ud5B

Amazon (CD also available on Amazon): http://goo.gl/nHyeK9

Hugs!!!,

Paul Daniel

Can you think of a reason for not sharing this?  Neither could I.

The blog for The Beautiful Project is The Blog About Beautiful Things at: 

https://theblogaboutbeautifulthings.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/ProBeautiful

<|> The gold crystal background to the blog and attachment to the emails is the logo of The Beautiful Project.  It is a pure gold crystal that occurs very rarely in nature. <|>

Leave a Reply

