The Beautiful Project – Issue No. 9 – The Chichester Psalms

The Beautiful Project – Issue No. 9 – The Chichester Psalms

As a boy soprano, I first got introduced to The Chichester Psalms when I was in Junior High School.  Like the Orchestral-Bridal Version of ABBA’s Dancing Queen, it is still one of the most beautiful sounds I have ever heard.  I had never heard anything like it before I heard it, a sound that is ‘sublime’.  I did not know that beautiful sounds like that existed, that they were real, I thought they were only the things you read or heard about in stories, fairy tales, like sirens and the music of the spheres.  But it is real, and this is one of the best performances of it I have ever encountered, both sonically and visually.

Enjoy!  And Happy Valentine’s Day, by the way!  That’s beautiful too!  🙂

The Chichester Psalms by Leonard Bernstein –

http://tiny.cc/chichesterpsalms

A CD of a different recording of it can be found here, and it is also on iTunes:

http://tiny.cc/chichesterpsalms_cd

And do let me know what you think of The Chichester Psalms!

Leave a Reply

